- Can Realtors recommend contractors?
- Can an unlicensed contractor sue me?
- Can a Realtor be liable for recommending an unlicensed contractor?
- Can a contractor sue you?
- What should you not say to a contractor?
- How do I know if my contractor is unhappy?
- How much work can you do without a contractor license in California?
- How long do I have to pay a contractor?
- What is a reasonable down payment for a contractor?
- Do you have to pay a contractor for bad work?
- Can a Realtor be a contractor?
- What happens if I hire an unlicensed contractor in California?
- What is unlicensed contracting?
- Can a contractor sue for non payment without a contract?
- What happens if a contractor doesn’t have insurance?
- What if a contractor does a bad job?
- Does my homeowners insurance cover contractors?
- Is it illegal to hire unlicensed contractor in California?
- Should I pay my contractor in cash?
- How much can an unlicensed contractor charge in California?
- Can Realtor pay for repairs?
Can Realtors recommend contractors?
Every really good real estate agent has a plumber, an electrician, and a general contractor that they recommend to clients.
Any relationship you form with the estate agent is going to be based on the fact that they know when they refer you that you’re going to do good work..
Can an unlicensed contractor sue me?
Fact! It is illegal for an unlicensed person to perform contracting work on any project valued at $500 or more in combined labor and material costs. … This means that if an unlicensed contractor tries to sue someone who hired him/her for unpaid work, no California court will enforce payment!
Can a Realtor be liable for recommending an unlicensed contractor?
“The case is significant to homeowners because it subjects them to potential liability if they hire an unlicensed contractor to perform work on their property for which a license is required, if that employee is injured on the job, even if the homeowner has workers’ compensation coverage in place,” according to D.
Can a contractor sue you?
First of all, you can sue your contractor for breach of contract, even without a written contract, and she can sue you as well. … See Nolo’s article, “Breach of Contract Cases in Small Claims Court,” for more on this. However, an alleged oral contract does create difficult evidentiary questions for the judge.
What should you not say to a contractor?
8 Things You Should Never Say to a Contractor’I’m not in a hurry’ … ‘I know a great roofer/electrician/cabinet installer!’ … ‘We had no idea this would be so expensive’ … ‘Why can’t you work during the thunderstorm/snow/heat wave?’ … ‘I’ll buy my own materials’ … ‘I can’t pay you today. … ‘I’ll pay upfront’ … ‘I’m old school.
How do I know if my contractor is unhappy?
When talking with the contractor, explain why you are unhappy with his work, and get him to sign a document detailing the solutions that you have both agreed on, so that if he flakes, you have written proof. Remember to avoid writing an online review before talking with your contractor.
How much work can you do without a contractor license in California?
California Contractors News, Notes & Legislation When is a contractor’s license required in California? According to state law, it is illegal for an unlicensed contractor to advertise as being licensed or contract for work exceeding $500 in value for labor and materials.
How long do I have to pay a contractor?
Once they know it is – usually no more than 30 days after the contractor has finished working on the job – they can deliver the final payment. It’s important that homeowners do not make a payment until each stage or milestone is complete. Contractors will work more efficiently if it means they will get paid sooner.
What is a reasonable down payment for a contractor?
Contractors cannot ask for a deposit of more than 10 percent of the total cost of the job or $1,000, whichever is less. * (This applies to any home improvement project, including swimming pools.) Stick to your schedule of payments and don’t let payments get ahead of the completed work.
Do you have to pay a contractor for bad work?
Most important of all, inspect all work carefully before paying contractors for it. As the adage goes, possession is nine-tenths of the law, so if you don’t pay them for bad work, the onus is on them to pursue the matter in arbitration or small claims court to try and get money from you, rather than vice-versa.
Can a Realtor be a contractor?
In the real estate industry in the United States, real estate agents, while under the supervision of real estate brokers, are not generally considered employees unless this employer/employee has been expressly stated. Instead, in most cases, real estate agents are considered independent contractors.
What happens if I hire an unlicensed contractor in California?
A contractor without a license might end up being charged with a misdemeanor accompanied by a jail sentence of up to six months and a fine of $5,000. Administrative fines might also be faced by an unlicensed contractor, which could range from $200 to $15,000.
What is unlicensed contracting?
An unlicensed contractor is someone who does repairs or makes improvements to your home without the appropriate license to do business in your state. Typically, unlicensed contractors work for less than licensed contractors because they avoid worker’s compensation and liability insurance requirements.
Can a contractor sue for non payment without a contract?
Without a contract, a judge would throw the case out. Even with a contract, if the work was not done up to standard, the contractor could be liable.
What happens if a contractor doesn’t have insurance?
Without it, you could be held responsible for any injury or damage your contractor causes. Additionally, hiring a contractor without insurance limits your ability to remedy the damage caused by faulty construction, such as water damage or fire.
What if a contractor does a bad job?
If the job is incomplete and a solution cannot be found, you could stop paying the contractor, fire your contractor and/or hire another contractor to complete the job (remember to keep a paper trail of work completed and costs). 6. File a complaint with a local government agency, like the Consumer Beware List.
Does my homeowners insurance cover contractors?
If a contractor damages your home, homeowners insurance typically helps pay for repairs. However, home insurance may not cover other scenarios involving a contractor working on your home, such as poor workmanship.
Is it illegal to hire unlicensed contractor in California?
Is Hiring an Unlicensed Contractor in California Illegal? The California Contractor’s State License Law protects homeowners against unlicensed contractors. It is illegal for an unlicensed person to perform contracting work on any project valued at $500 or more in combined labor and material costs.
Should I pay my contractor in cash?
Paying a contractor cash Although paying cash is not the best option, you can make it a little safer by signing a contract or a “receipt” with each cash transaction. In general, it is usually not a good practice to pay cash up front.
How much can an unlicensed contractor charge in California?
Those who are caught contracting without a license likely will have to appear before a Superior Court judge to answer to misdemeanor charges that can carry a potential sentence of up to six months in jail and/or a $5,000 fine, as well as an administrative fine of $200 to $15,000.
Can Realtor pay for repairs?
Answer. The short answer to your question is that yes, it is legal—in fact, it’s the industry standard—for your agent’s commission to not change despite all your unforeseen costs. The longer answer is based on the contract that you entered into with your agent at the outset of the process of selling.